Rist Canyon Shawl

Rist Canyon ShawlWhen I received my new Interweave Crochet magazine (www.interweavecrochet.com), I searched for a unique smaller project for which I could use my stash yarn. I found it. This is the “Rist Canyon Shawl”  (designed by Kathy Merrick), which features many different colors. It suggests using size “1” yarn (fingering weight), but I instead used DK acrylic and cotton yarn that I’ve had for a couple of years. I still used a size “E” hook and the yarn was obliged to accept the hook. The Plymouth Yarn “Wildflower”  worked up very smoothly and drapes beautifully. Even though it is twisted 8ply yarn, there was no splitting or fussiness. It was truly a joy to work with. The pattern itself was very interesting and kept my attention. It alternates rectangles and triangles using short rows, and because of the triangles, it meanders as a river flows between the banks. I know it will be an attention grabber each time I wear it this winter!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

