Tae Kwon Do

After signing my son up for a local summer session of Tae Kwon Do, I decided I wanted to try some martial arts too! I’ve done Tae Bo and kickboxing, but I wasn’t quite prepared for this! I know a bit of Japanese so the counting-Ichi, Ni, San-was fine, but when it comes to the Korean words for the forms, I am dumbfounded and awestruck that people immediately know how to move! The names of the forms sound all the same, and just like a foreign language! I have to stop first, then decode, and when everyone else is moving, I just follow them (they know what they are doing). Just when I think I am getting the hang of it, they add a backhand move while I turn and can’t see them anymore! Uh-oh! I smile sheepishly and watch them as they finish. And then the self-defense tactics! Oh! I need to move my whole body out of the way without falling or losing balance and then do some fancy arm-holds! The best part is when we do the forms, we are required to grunt! Fun stuff!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tae Kwon Do

  1. Anonymous says:

    I LOVE the picture Molly! Enjoy! You will be an expert soon!

Leave a Reply

