Patriotism and Cardigan II

This pretty cardigan from Doris Chan is finished. The sleeves took about 4 hours. The trim is a simple scallop with alternating single crochet and the tie is simply slip stitch. It is very warm and perfect for the cool summer evenings.

I took this afghan with me on our vacation and I was able to get half of it done. It is now 28 1/2 inches.

While we were on vacation, I found a book of a kids afghan made into 12 squares all featuring different techniques (published by Knitters Magazine). Since I ran out of yarn for the afghan above, I decided to start working on this square. We went to a yarn store and picked out these fun colors and I got started! It looks complicated but it is fairly simple. I made the first triangle, then picked up stitches with a different color and made another triangle, and I did that until the square was done. The edging is done in the round after picking up stitches. This technique is called modular knitting and it’s a lot of fun! The colors are wonderfully playful and striking as well!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

