Adventure in New Beginnings

Looking through crochet magazines and books offer much inspiration and excitement. I liken myself to the child on Christmas Eve waiting in hopeful anticipation. I open the plastic-covered magazine that comes in the mailbox and smile and giggle with glee, for within those beautifully printed pages awaits my next project. I try to contain ripping the pages apart by slowly, turning each page with great care. I try to focus on each page as I mentally decide if I am able to practice self-control. The pages are so lovely, the models are so gorgeous, the projects are dashing. Then, I find it. The perfect project.
It’s beautiful, the color is just right, there is no seaming and it’s quick! The yarn is easily substituted and I have the perfect yarn in my stash! Now…wait! I can’t start it now, I must start dinner! Oh no! That means I must wait a little longer to feel the yarn coarsing through my fingers and try the extremely interesting and intricate pattern! The anticipation is agonizing!
I love to start new projects. I love the adventure and the excitement of it all. Personally, I love to embark on new journeys to see how God will bless others through me. One journey that has been quite interesting is seeing the chiropractor. God has made our bodies in such a way that we are meant to be healthy (able to fight off germs, manage stress, etc). God wants our bodies to be healthy so we can serve Him. In Romans 12.1-2 (KJV) it says we must present our bodies as a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is our reasonable service. And we shall not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God. This verse not only says we need to give up ourselves spiritually, but physically, so that our minds can be conformed to the things of God.
How do we keep our bodies, and minds healthy while undergoing much stress from everyday situations? First, and foremost, read and study God’s word, seek Him, and let Him guide your every decision. Second, exercise. Exercise clears the mind and while I am exerting all of that energy (huffing and puffing and sweating), I am relieving stress, allowing ultimately my body to relax and my mind to clear. Thirdly, diet. The American diet is full of fat, salt, fillers, antibiotics, perservatives that are not natural nor good for our bodies. We need to educate ourselves and take care of the body God has blessed us with and use it for his glory.
With these things in mind, I started a new adventure. The chiropractor told me I needed a more rigorous exercise program so I started a fitness membership and I am very excited about where this new journey will lead me. God bless!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

